8 Books to read if you love The Chronicles of Narnia

Hi y’all and welcome back to my Saturday Book List series where I give some recommendations based on my favorite books.

Fun fact, this is my 500th post on Greenish Bookshelf! Pretty cool!

This week I’m sharing some books to read if you love The Chronicles of Narnia. I’m a huge Narnia fan and C. S. Lewis fan in general. I think he was a brilliant writer who talked about faith, courage, life, and love in beautiful ways. Everyone should read C. S. Lewis.

As usual if you are a novice to this series, I would recommend reading it in its entirety in publication order. That last bit is important because that’s the way Lewis told the story. I think it gives the best experience in Narnia. For more of my thoughts on the series, check out my review here.

And now, enjoy my list of books to read if you love The Chronicles of Narnia.

 

The Wilderking Trilogy by Jonathan Rogers // Book one is titles The Bark of the Bog Owl. I’m in the middle of book three of this fun middle grade series. It’s a fantasy/allegorical fiction retelling of the story of David from the Bible. It’s clever, has great characters and settings & teaches kids the importance of courage and treating others with respect. This belongs on this list for the subtle religious elements in the story and the way I get swept into the story like I do with Narnia.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s StoneΒ by J. K. Rowling // This series needs so intro and seems an obvious choice for a list like this. Both this and Narnia are fantastic!

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien // This is an obvious choice as Tolkien and Lewis were good friends and colleagues in Oxford. I chose this one instead of The Lord of the Rings for it’s simpler story line. I think Bilbo’s story read a bit more like Narnia because it is a smaller novel with similar themes and great adventures.

Fablehaven by Brandon Mull // I have raved over and over about this series on my blog. But it’s perfect again for a list like this. Siblings Kendra and Seth are swept into the world of Fablehaven, a magical preserve for fantastic creatures run by their grandparents. Adventures of all sorts begin when they discover the secret to seeing the magic all around them. I love this series and the great lessons and adventures along the way! Great for fans of Narnia as these siblings enter a magical world much like the Pevensies (minus the wardrobe).

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale // I love everything I’ve read by Shannon Hale and this is one of her best. Ani is passed over as the next ruler in her home kingdom then nearly killed on her journey to marry the prince of a neighboring kingdom. She goes into hiding as the goose girl and must summon all her courage and cleverness to recapture her rightful place in the kingdom. I love the adventure and the journey that Ani goes on in this story. It’s full of fantastic characters and some clever magical elements. Narnia fans will enjoy Ani and may be reminded of Caspian and the Pevensies.
Bonus read: Princess Academy by Shannon Hale.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card // This may seem an unlikely choice for a list like this but give me a moment to explain. Ender goes to a new world (in space) where he must learn how to rise to the top of his class (much like the Pevensies must learn to become the kings and queens of Narnia). Ender must overcome enemies and personal demons to succeed. And in the end, everything is not what it seems (which I think connects will with several of the Narnia books). It’s science fiction genre is different than Narnia’s allegorical fantasy, but I think Narnia fans would enjoy this one.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine // I love this book (and the movie!) so much! It’s a delightful story of Ella who is “cursed” with the gift of obedience as a baby. As the story continues, she learns how to overcome her fears and move beyond her limitations. I love the delightful storytelling and quick reading of this book. The fun story and quick read reminds me of Narnia.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle // This is another obvious choice for this list. I think what sets this classic book apart is the way it pushes readers to think deeper about themselves and the world around us. Why do we do what we do? And what are we willing to do to get those we love back? Narnia does the same thing for me.

On my TBR:

  • Out of the Silent Planet by C. S. Lewis
  • The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles by Julie Andrews
  • The Princess and the Goblin by George Macdonald

What books would you recommend to Narnia fans?

8 thoughts on “8 Books to read if you love The Chronicles of Narnia

  1. For adult books that are reminiscent of Narnia, I just started reading The Fionavar Tapestry by Guy Gavriel Kay – I haven’t gotten very far, yet, but it uses the “ordinary people get transported to magical world” set-up.

    I hope you like The Last of The Really Great Whangdoodles! I have such good memories of reading that when I was younger.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s