7 Books to Read if You Love Anne of Green Gables

Welcome back to my Saturday Book List series! I’m very excited to share some recommendations today if you love Anne of Green Gables. This fantastic 8 book series by L. M. Montgomery is one of my absolute favorites. I loved hosting the #AnneReadAlong2017 with my good friend Jackie @ Death By Tsundoku. And I aspire to visit Prince Edward Island someday.

The first book in the series is a consistent favorite and certainly a classic. But what should you read if you love Anne?

First, I recommend reading the full series! While a few of the books are a bit slower (Anne of Windy Poplars and Anne of Ingleside which were both added later), Anne’s full story is just lovely.

If you’re looking for more books like Anne, check out my list below. I break it up by reader age because there are a few fantastic picture/board books I had to include. Enjoy!

For Little Readers:

Anne of Green Gables: A Places Primer by Jennifer Adams // I love everything made by BabyLit and this one is perfect for Anne. A places primer that starts with Prince Edward Island and brings us to some of Anne’s favorite places like “pond” and “wood.” A great addition to the BabyLit collection!

Goodnight, Anne: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables by Kallie George // I happened upon this one in my local library a few months ago and just loved it! It tells the story of Anne telling everyone and everything she loves in Avonlea goodnight–from Matthew and Diana to the Lake of Shining Waters and the tree outside her window. It’s beautifully illustrated too!

For Older Readers:

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen //  The Dashwood sisters find themselves in reduced circumstances after the death of their father. They must work hard to find joy and love in their lives. I think Marianne Dashwood and Anne Shirley would be kindred spirits in another life. Both are voracious readers dreaming of passionate & overwhelming love, yet both find true love closer than they expect.

Heidi by Johanna Spyri // Heidi is also an orphan who is sent to live with her Grandfather on the Swiss Alps. Heidi adores her mountain home just like Anne adores Avonlea. And both change the lives of the other people that share their homes.

Little Men by Louisa May Alcott // This sequel to Little Women is a great read for Anne lovers with a different twist. Several of the boys at Jo’s school are orphans and she shows them as much love and care as a mother. Full of fun stories and mishaps, this is a great read that shows us a glimpse of what it would have been like if Anne had only been a boy.

A Little Princess by Francis Hodgson Burnett // Sara Crewe is an orphan with a brilliant imagination (sound familiar?) When her father dies unexpectedly, she changes from the richest pupil at her boarding school to a maid. But Sara always knows she is a princess and that knowledge brings her through the darkest times.

Marilla of Green Gables by Sarah McCoy // I read this prequel set in the Green Gables world last month and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it! This novel tells the story of Marilla–how she became the stern, orderly matron of Green Gables, the tragedies she has overcome, and how love slipped out of reach. It’s very true to the writing style and tone of the original books. Anne fans will appreciate this one.

Bonuses on my TBR:

  • Emily of New Moon by L. M. Montgomery
  • The Blue Castle by L. M. Montgomery

What would you recommend to Anne lovers?

14 thoughts on “7 Books to Read if You Love Anne of Green Gables

  1. Great idea for a post! I’m not sure what else I could recommend… if we’re talking books about girls in rural / semi rural communities, there’s the Little House on the Prairie series. The Secret Garden is a great one, although the main character is very ‘sour’ at first.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lydiaschoch

    The Blue Castle is an amazing book. I hope you love it.

    And you did a great job with this post. Everything you listed definitely does have that Anne feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. momslovelearning

    As a child, I loved the Heidi books. There are also several sequels, the last of them featuring Heidi as a grandmother. And I loved Little Women and its sequels too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marilyn

    Thank You for this list of books. My twin sister says her favorite Lucy Maud Montgomery book is the “Pat of Silverbush” series. I love the “Anne” series and the “Emily” series. “Marigold” is another favorite..
    Marilyn

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s