5 Books to Read if You Love Circus Settings

Happy Saturday, y’all! I’m back this week with a Saturday book list. I just started rereading The Night Circus and have fallen back into the enchantment just like the first time. So I decided to share some of my favorite books set in the circus. I pull from all sorts of genres which was so fun. There is something magical about a circus that seems to resonate with readers of any age. Enjoy!

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern // The top of this list is obviously this incredibly enchanting adventure. I’m only about 50 pages in and I’m impressed all over again. This journey follows Celia and Marco as they face off in the center of the magical Le Cirque des Reves in a magical contest more complex than the players or patrons can imagine. Fun fact, this is the first book I ever reviewed on my blog!

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley // I read this fantastic middle grade novel earlier this year. It follows Micah’s journey to save his beloved grandfather with a miracle from the Lightbender at Circus Mirandus. This circus is a fantastic magical adventure that requires the right sort of faith and belief to get inside it’s fence. I loved it and the cover is one of my recent favorites.

The Ringmaster’s Wife by Kristy Cambron // This beautiful historical fiction novel follows the rise of the Ringling Brothers Circus and the way Mable Ringling because the center of the show. This dual timeline story is a rich, gorgeous story–a feast of vivid imagery that brings the circus to life. One of Kristy’s best so far!

The Circus Ship byΒ Chris Van Dusen // This clever book tells the story of a circus ship that sinks and the animals that find a new home when they swim ashore. We really enjoyed it at our house! Plus, it’s beautifully illustrated and the rhyming text is fantastic!

The Greatest Showman // Okay, yes this is not a book but a musical movie. But it’s so fantastic and I love the soundtrack so much! It chronicles the rise of P. T. Barnum’s circus and the many sacrifices, triumphs and mistakes he makes along the way. Seriously a favorite!

Bonuses on my TBR:

  • The Lady and the Lionheart by Joanne Biscoff
  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber

What are your favorite books (or movies) with circus settings?

6 thoughts on “5 Books to Read if You Love Circus Settings

  1. Pingback: 6 Books to read set in New York City – greenish bookshelf

  2. Pingback: April Wrap-Up & May TBR – greenish bookshelf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s